January 19, 2019

West Indies march into U19 WC final beating Bangladesh

Dhaka: West Indies confirmed the final berth in the ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup beating Bangladesh by three wickets in the second semifinal at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur on Thursday.

West Indies will play the final against mighty India at the same venue on Sunday (14 February).

In the day’s match replying 226, West Indies reached the target scoring 230/7 in 48.4 overs with Shamar Springer unbeaten 62 off 88 balls including five boundaries and one six.

Skipper Shimron Hetmyer was another notable scorer who hammered 60 off 59 balls with seven boundaries and one six.

Saleh Ahmed Shawon bagged three wickets for 37 runs in 10 overs. Mohammad Saifuddin and skipper Mehedi Hasan Miraz took two wickets for 46 and 57 runs.

Batting first after winning the toss, Bangladesh scored 226 for all in 50 overs spurred by the 6th pair contribution of 85 in 18.2 overs between Mehedi Hasan Miraz and Mohammad Saifuddin.

The 6th pair started form 113/5 in 27.1 overs that ended up at 198/6 in 45.3 overs as skipper Miraz was caught by Michael Frew off Keemo Paul bowling.

Miraz topscored 60 off 74 balls involving seven boundaries while Saifuddin stayed for 36 off 55 balls including three boundaries before being bowled out by Paul at 198/7 in 45.4 overs.

Number-3 batsman Joyraz Sheik’s 35 off 54 balls including five boundaries minimised the early damage as he left the crease at 88/4 in 21.4 overs starting from 10/1 in 2 overs. Joyraz was bowled out by Shamar Springer.

Bangladesh touched the 100-run mark with Zakir Hasan’s boundary in 25.5 overs played off a front foot on the leg side off a Chemar Holder’s delivery.

Zakir Hasan (24 off 44b; 2×4) finally made a dismal departure as he was bowled out by Holder at 113/5 in 27.1 overs.

Mosabbek Hossain (14 off 12b; 1×4), number-4 batsman Nazmul Hossain Shanto (11off 24b; 1×4), Mehedi Hasan Rana (Not out10 off 7b; 1×6) and Saif Hassan (10 off 16b; 1×4) were the others double figure scorers for Bangladesh.

Opening bat, Bangladesh faced early blow losing their opening pair to manage a meager 27/2 in 6.1 overs.

Opener Pinak Ghosh was caught by Keemo Paul off Chemar Holder bowling with duck at 10/1 in 2 overs.

Saif Hassan also failed to stay long with Joyraz, following Pinak soon at 27/2 in 6.1 overs, was caught by Jyd Goolie off Alzarri Joseph bowling.

Keemo Paul enjoyed three wickets for economic 20 runs in three overs. Delivering 10 overs and conceding 36-run each, CK Holder and Shamar Springer took two wickets apiece.

Man of the match: Shamar Springer (West Indies).

Related posts