April 25, 2018

Zimbabwe win by 3 wickets in 2nd T20

Zimbabwe won by 3 wickets

Brief score : Bangladesh: 135/9 ( 20/20 ov), Zimbabwe: 136/7 (19.5/20 ov)

Neville Madziva hit 18 off the last 5 balls to present Zimbabwe a thrilling three-wicket win against hosts Bangladesh in the second and final T20 match on Sunday.

The win means the T20 series is drawn 1-1, as the visitors clinched a win at last in the tour, after losing the ODI series 3-0.

Chasing the Tigers’ score of 135 at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, the visitors made seven runs in the first over, but speedster Al-Amin Hossain picked up the wickets of Sikandar Raza and Sean Williams in the first two balls of the next over.

Mustafizur Rahman then made Regis Chakava give a catch to Sabbir Rahman and Arafat Sunny picked the wicket of Elton Chigumbura after Craig Ervine fell victim to a run out, leaving Zimbabwe at 39 for 5.

Luke Jongwe and Malcom Waller then made 55 in the sixth wicket stand to bring the visitors back to the game, but an economic Mustafiz made the job harder for the guests.

Still Bangladesh looked good to wrap the series 2-0 when the last over began, as the visitors needed 18 off the last six deliveries to be bowled by Nasir.

Madziva had other ideas, blasting two sixes and a four on the way to handing his team a nail-biting victory.

The Zimbabwean was duly adjudged the man-of-the-match for this cameo on the back of a two-wicket haul.

Al-Amin bagged three wickets in the match while Mustafizur took two.

Earlier, Anamul Haque hit 47 to help the Tigers post 135 after Tigers skipper Mashrafe Bin Mortaza had opted to bat first winning the toss.

Openers Tamim Iqbal and Imrul Kayes made a quick start, the duo making 34 before the former gave a catch to Chigumbura after making 21 in 15 balls with two sixes and a four.

Imrul (10) joined his fellow opener in the dressing room in next over, as the hosts kept losing wickets on regular interval.

Mushfiqur Rahim, Nasir Hossain and Mahmudullah failed to reach double figures, but Sabbir Rahman’s 17 and that Anamul innings saved the hosts from further blushes.

Anamul, who was brought in the squad alongside Imrul replacing Jubair Hossain and Liton Das, hit three fours in his innings.

For Zimbabwe, Tinashe Panyangara was the most successful bowler, grabbing three wickets, while Madziva and Graeme Cremer bagged two each.

Malcom Waller was named the man of the series for his brilliant batting in both the T20 matches.

Related posts