March 22, 2019

Comilla Victorians clinch 3rd BPL title

Comilla Victorians

Alok Kapali took 13 runs in the last over as Comilla Victorians defeated Barisal Bulls by three wickets in a nerve-wracking final to lift the title of the Bangladesh Premier League 2015 on Tuesday.

In fact, Kapali hit four fours in the last six balls he played as his cameo after opener Imrul Kayes’ 53 off 37 balls cancelled out an all-round performance from Bulls skipper Mahmudullah.

Winning the toss at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, Comilla skipper Mashrafe Bin Mortaza invited Barisal to bat first and aggressive batting displays from opener Seekkuge Prasanna, Mahmudullah and Shahriar Nafees helped Barisal Bulls post 156 for 4 in 20 overs.

Opener Mehedi Maruf managed only 11, but Prasanna hit 33 in just 19 balls to get the Bulls going. After his departure, Mashrafe bowled in-form Sabbir Rahman on nine, but Nafees blasted 44 in 31 balls while Mahmudullah fired 48 off 36 deliveries to take the Bulls forward.

It was not the best of the days for speedster Abu Hider as he failed to bag a single wicket, conceding 35 runs in 4 overs.

However, although he lost the race to be the tournament’s highest wicket-taking bowler to Kevon Cooper of Barisal, who bagged two on the day, Imrul and Kapali made sure Hider has the last smile.

Ahmed Shehzad’s 30 off 24 balls also proved vital as Comilla romped to their first ever BPL title.

Related posts