April 20, 2018

BPL: Comilla go top after routing Rangpur

Comilla Victorians

Comilla Victorians completed their1st phase of the franchise-based 3rd Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) with a convincing 9 wickets victory against Rangpur Riders in the 11th Twenty20 league match at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur on Thursday.

Replaying to Rangpur Riders league lowest score of 82 runs, Comilla Victorians drew the winning line scoring 84 runs for 1 in 11.5 overs riding on the unbeaten 2nd wicket stand for 55 in 6.3 overs between Marlon Samuels and opener Imrul Kayes.

Marlon Samuels who was adjudged man of the match hammered the team highest not out 42 off 24 balls with eight boundaries and one six while Imrul Kayes scored another unbeaten 24 off 29 balls involving two fours and one six.

The Victorians lost their only wicket of Mahmudul Hasan who scored 11 off 18 balls with two fours before being caught by skipper Misbah-ul-Haq off an Arafat Sunny bowling leaving team total at 29/1 in 5.2 overs.

Arafat Sunny conceded 13 runs in 3 overs to bag the only wicket.

Earlier, sent in to bat first in the match, Rangpur Riders mounted 82 runs for all playing 19.5 overs with number three batsman Mohammad Mithun scoring the highest 28 off 42 balls involving two fours.

Mohammad Mithun was caught by Abu Hider off a Nuwan Kulasekara bowling leaving team total at 67 for 7 in 17 overs.

Number ten batsman Saqlain Sajib fell victim to run out scoring 11 off 8 balls with two boundaries in the tail-end was another double figure scorer for Rangpur.

Rangpur Riders faced early jolt losing their three top order batsmen — Soumya Sarkar, Lendl Simmons and Jahurul Islam — for 18 runs in 4.6 overs and could not come back in the match for a decent score.

Nuwan Kulasekara captured 4 wickets for economic 12 runs in 4 overs while Abu Hider took 2 wickets for 15 runs also in 4 overs.

Ashar Zaidi and Sunil Narine took one wicket each fulfilling their quota of four overs and conceding 13 and 16 runs respectively.

With this result, Comilla Victorians completed the 1st phase of the tournament securing 6 points from 4 matches with 3 successive victories in the first phase while Rangpur Riders also earned identical 6 points from 5 matches with 3 wins and two losses.

Related posts