March 24, 2018

Bangladesh face England in Champions Trophy opener

The eight-team ICC Champions Trophy will begin with Bangladesh taking on hosts England in the tournament opener at Oval on June 1, 2017, reports UNB.

International Cricket Council (ICC) on Wednesday announced the group seeding and fixture of the one-day-format ICC Champions Trophy where Bangladesh were placed in Group-A along with England, Australia and New Zealand.

The tournament schedule was announced at The Oval, exactly a year before the tournament, involving a total of 15 matches that include three knockout matches.

The top eight sides of the ICC ODI Team Rankings as of September 30, 2015 have qualified for this tournament.

Group-B comprises defending champions India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and South Africa.

In the remaining matches, the Tigers will face Australia at the same venue on June 5 in a day-night affair while complete their group phase battle playing against New Zealand at Cardiff on June 9.

The top two sides from each group will play the semi-finals. The semifinals will be played at Cardiff and Edgbaston on June 14 and 15 respectively.

The final of the 18-day long tournament will be held at the Oval on June 18, 2017. There will be a reserve day for the final.
Event schedule:
June 1: England v Bangladesh, The Oval (d)
June 2: Australia v New Zealand, Edgbaston (d)
June 3: Sri Lanka v South Africa, The Oval (d)
June 4: India v Pakistan, Edgbaston (d)
June 5: Australia v Bangladesh, The Oval (d/n)
June 6: England v New Zealand, Cardiff (d)
June 7: Pakistan v South Africa, Edgbaston (d/n)
June 8: India v Sri Lanka, The Oval (d)
June 9: New Zealand v Bangladesh, Cardiff (d)
June 10: England v Australia, Edgbaston (d)
June 11: India v South Africa, The Oval (d)
June 12: Sri Lanka v Pakistan, Cardiff (d)
June 14: First semi-final (A1 v B2), Cardiff (d)
June 15: Second semi-final (A2 v B1), Edgbaston (d)
June 18: Final, The Oval (d)
June 19: Reserve day (d)

Related posts